Dr. Janice Eng

Dr. Janice Eng is a professor and Canada Research Chair in the UBC Department of Physical Therapy at the University of British Columbia. She studied as an undergraduate at UBC in the combined Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy (PT/OT) program. At the masters level, she studied at the University of Toronto, graduating with an MSc in Biomedical Engineering. Lastly, she completed her doctorate in Kinesiology at the University of Waterloo. Dr. Eng also completed her post-doctoral training in Neurophysiology at Simon Fraser University.

Currently, most of Dr. Eng’s time is spent doing research as she is a Canada Research Chair which protects her research time.

Dr. Eng’s professional recognition includes:

  • Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Neurological Rehabilitation (2016-)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research Foundation grant recipient (2015-2022)
  • Award for Excellence in Mentoring Early Career Faculty, 2010
  • Women of Distinction, YWCA, 2010
  • Jonas Salk Award for Lifetime Achievement, 2009
  • Fellow, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences 2009
  • Senior Scholar, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, 2008-current
  • Scholar, Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, 2003-2008
  • New Investigator Award, Canadian Institutes for Health Research, 2003-2008
  • Killam Research Prize, 2006
  • Scholar, BC Health Research Foundation, 1998-2002